Big Words Are Not Scary…

A common complaint of those closest to me is that I use big words too often. Interestingly enough, when they tell me this I am surprised. I am surprised because I was not aware of what words they considered big, and I was not aware they were uncomfortable.

I ran across this quote recently and felt understood, finally on this topic. How could I possibly know what words are big or little to someone else? I only use the words that I have discovered and have come to know, because once you understand a thing it loses its scariness or bigness and becomes simply what it is; an expression.

I never want to limit my ideas or thoughts to the vocabulary I have today. I want to see how much more I can come to understand. Could this be a secret of childhood? If we all stopped knowing more when we said things like, ” I wuv you.” imagine the beautiful expressions we would  miss out on. So many times people bemoan losing themselves as children to become adults. Could it be that adulthood as we know it is really just forfeiture of discovery? I think one of the secrets of childhood is accepting ourselves without judgment, and then opening ourselves to knowing, exploring, and discovering more.

“People laugh at me because I use big words. But if you have big ideas, you have to use big words to express them, haven't you?”  ― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

“People laugh at me because I use big words. But if you have big ideas, you have to use big words to express them, haven’t you?”
― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

Leave a comment